By  and 

June 25, 2021 

Effective June 21, 2021, the Government of Canada imposed new sanctions against 17 individuals and 5 entities under the Special Economic Measures (Belarus) Regulations (the “Regulations”).  The sanctions were imposed in response to alleged systemic human rights violations and the May 23, 2021 diversion, by the Belarusian regime, of Ryanair Flight 4978 from its planned course in order to land in Minsk.  The imposition of sanctions by the Government of Canada was taken in coordination with the United Kingdom, European Union, and United States.

Read More