Founding partner, Steven E. Pegalis, was recently honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award by the New York State Trial Lawyers Association (NYSTLA). Joseph Awad, Esq, past president of NYSTLA, bestowed the award to Pegalis on behalf of their 3500 members to a spontaneous standing ovation. NYSTLA, a professional association, preserves and enhances the New York civil justice system by assuring those wrongfully injured have access to the civil justice system.  NYSTLA works alongside health advocates, tenants' groups, senior citizens groups, and many other public interest organizations to protect the rights of consumers.

Steven E. Pegalis is the founding partner of Pegalis & Erickson, LLC, and one of the nation's foremost medical malpractice trial lawyers. With nearly 50 years of advocating for seriously injured victims of medical errors, and obtaining some of the highest jury verdicts, the stacks of thank-you notes and photographs from some of the team's 2000 clients, are his most prized processions.  In his early days as a trial lawyer in the 1970s, he first represented and won a case for a brain injured child, at a time very few understood how to handle such cases. Today, Pegalis continues to mentor and guide a legal team that he believes are without peer to win major verdicts and settlements for those who have suffered because of avoidable medical mistakes. Pegalis is Adjunct Professor of Law at NY Law School (NYLS) and serves on the school's Board of Trustees. Pegalis is AV-rated on Martindale-Hubbell for professional excellence and was just named "2017 Lawyer of the Year" by Best Lawyers® for Long Island Plaintiffs Personal Injury Litigation. In 2015, Pegalis was named co-director of the Patient Safety Project at NYLS to make significant contributions to medical safety initiatives  andpromote innovative health law policies for the public good.  Also in 2015, Pegalis was honored by the Nassau County Bar Association's WE CARE Fund, which raises funds for some 100 charities in Nassau County.  Steven Pegalis is the author of American Law of Medical Malpractice, Volumes 1-3, now in its 3rd edition.