Compiled by Nat Barr / Florida's Best Lawyers 2017: Miami Edition


In-House & Government:

► Holland & Knight: David L. Perry, Jr. (corporate law, 2009), left the firm to become chief legal counsel at Correct Care Solutions, a private health care company that provides services for nearly 250,000 patients in state and federal prisons, psychiatric hospitals, and city jails.

Private Practice:

► AkermanBrian K. Gart (bankruptcy and creditor debtor rights / insolvency and reorganization law, 2006) joined the firm’s Fort Lauderdale office from Berger Singerman. He is a past chair of the Florida Bar’s Business Law Section.

► Cozen O’Connor added a team of lawyers from former Miami intellectual property boutique Feldman Gale, including firm founders Jeffrey D. Feldman (commercial litigation; copyright law; litigation - intellectual property, 2007) and James A. Gale (litigation - intellectual property; patent law, 2006), and firm partners Thomas A. Dye (commercial litigation, 2013) and Samuel A. Lewis (information technology law; technology law, 2007).

► Greenspoon Marder acquired new attorneys and staff from the Florida Health Law Center, which merged into the Fort Lauderdale firm. The lawyers joining Greenspoon Marder include Jodi B. Laurence (health care law, 2013) and Lee F. Lasris (health care law, 2013), who are now shareholders in the firm’s health care law, corporate, and mergers and acquisitions groups.


Julie Braman Kane (commercial litigation; medical malpractice law - defendants; medical malpractice law - plaintiffs; personal injury litigation – plaintiffs, 2012) was inaugurated as president of the American Association for Justice (AAJ) on July 24 at the organization’s annual convention, held this year in Los Angeles. She will serve for a one-year term.

In the role of AAJ president, Kane leads the AAJ’s efforts to safeguard access to the civil jury trial system and support the work of attorneys who advocate for plaintiffs in personal injury, product liability, mass tort, and other civil cases.

"My beliefs about safety, justice, and fairness align with everything the American Association for Justice stands for and I am deeply honored and committed to serving as president this year," Kane said.

In addition to her status as the seventh woman and 71st president to lead the organization, Kane is the third member of her Coral Gables-based firm, Colson Hicks Eidson, to serve in this role. Firm co-founder Bill Colson led the organization as president from 1964 to 1965 and current Colson Hicks Eidson firm president Lewis "Mike" Eidson (mass tort litigation / class actions – plaintiffs; product liability litigation – plaintiffs, 2007) served as president from 2006 to 2007, the term following its members’ vote to change the organization’s name to the American Association for Justice.

The organization that eventually grew to become the American Association for Justice was originally known as the National Association of Claimants’ Compensation Attorneys. It was founded in 1946 by a group of workers’ compensation lawyers who met at a historic hotel in downtown Portland, Oregon, to discuss their shared concern for civil justice and the right of injured industrial workers to sue for damages. Over the following seven decades, the trial lawyer association expanded the scope of its mission, along with its membership: It was known as the Association of Trial Lawyers of America, or ATLA, from 1971 to 2006, and, in 1977, it moved its headquarters from Boston to Washington, D.C. In 2006, the ATLA’s members voted to update the name of the organization to the American Association for Justice, and it remains today the world’s largest bar for trial lawyers.


 Black, Srebnick, Kornspan & StumpfHoward Srebnick (commercial litigation; criminal defense: general practice; criminal defense: white-collar, 2005) led a defense team that won a reversal of wire fraud convictions on appeal for a group of Miami Beach nightclub owners who had hired young women from Eastern Europe to come to Miami and draw men into their nightclubs to buy drinks. The Eleventh Circuit court agreed with the defense that the nightclub owners’ sales strategy—although deceptive, because the relationship between so-called "bar-" or "b-girls" and nightclub owners was not disclosed to the nightclub patrons—did not legally constitute fraud.

 Greenberg TraurigHilarie Bass (commercial litigation; litigation - banking and finance; litigation - mergers and acquisitions; litigation - real estate; litigation - securities, 2007) assumed her new role as president-elect of the American Bar Association, and will become ABA president in August 2017. Bass is co-president of international law giant Greenberg Traurig and her practice is based in the firm’s Miami office.

 Richman GreerAlan Graham Greer (appellate practice; bet-the-company litigation; commercial litigation; legal malpractice law - defendants; litigation - antitrust; litigation - banking and finance; litigation - construction; litigation - intellectual property; professional malpractice law - defendants; securities / capital markets law, 1995) received the David W. Dyer Professionalism Award from the Dade County Bar Association, in recognition of his high level of excellence in character and professional conduct.